About Me

Hi, My name is Sophath!

Sues-day, k’nyom tch muoh Sophath!

I am a Cambodian-American woman who was born in a refugee camp in Thailand and raised in Oakland, CA. I am a mother of three kids; Pharoah, Kingston, and Ava. My husband is Brian, we have been together for over 5 years now (celebrating over 10 years of friendship).

I come from a very big family (eldest of 7 kids) along with cousins and extended cousins. I have three beautiful sisters (Linda, Rany and Norry). I have three handsome brothers (Sophea, Narith, and Brandon). Every time we all get together it’s always a party. Both of my parents still think they live in Cambodia so my family is as “Khmer” as we can be. My kids call my mom “Yeay” and my dad “Ta.”

My husband is half black and half white so we are a very racially blended family. His mom is Valerie aka GG or Nana, but never grandma. His dad is Bill aka Grandpa Bill.

When I am not responding to emails or onboarding investors at work, I am at home trying to figure out how to balance being a mom, wife, oldest sister, daughter and friend.

Life gets crazy at times because I feel like there is never any time for myself or to finish anything I started. As a caregiver, our first response is to take care of everyone else and we come after. Knowing that everyone is okay gives us a peace of mind.

I want to share my story and take you through my life journey as I learn to become a better “me” and this is how “cultivateaheart” began.

Thank you for allowing me to share my story.

Love Always,

Sophath Mey

Pronounced “So Pot”